Day 4 was finals day. After some very entertaining finals Mackay Regional Council Mayor Greg Williamson was on hand to make the presentations to all the place-getters from U13 upwards.  “Piggy” from the Bendigo Bank made presentations to the U11 placegetters.

At 9am the first two finals got underway.  2016 Australian Open Junior U11 Champion Benjamin Murray from the Sandgate Club in Brisbane was simply too good for his Brisbane Region team mate Zane Wolpers.  Murray won 11-2, 11-6, 11-2 in 16 minutes.

It was also time for the first of the local hopes to take the court.  Mackay’s Wes Dyer (2) was ready to take on #1 seed Ethan Stephenson in the Boys U15 final.  Dyer played out of his skin to win the first game and then recover from 1-2 down to win the U15 State Title 12-10, 7-11, 7-11, 11-6, 11-6 in 57 minutes.  The local crowd was delighted.  .

It was somewhat of a boil over … Dyer was the only player to beat a #1 seed.  As it turned out the final was the only one to go to five and it was also the longest match for a final at this year’s championship.

Next up was #2 seed Hayley Hankinson (Mackay) in the Girls U15 final.  In her first year in U15 it was always going to be a tough assignment against Brisbane’s Mackenzie Sleep [1] who is a a more seasoned campaigner.  Sleep put the foot down right from the start and never took it off powering away for a 3-0 victory in 22 minutes: 11-2, 11-5, 11-5.

Brisbane’s Charlotte Stephenson won the Girls U11 round robin.  She won all 5 matches and defeated Kayce Hoani-Vincent (3) 11-3, 11-4, 11-2 to finish in first position.

It was now time for the first of the blue ribbon events … the U19 Girls final between Brisbané’s Taylor Jones [1] and Southern’s Skye Turner [3].  Shooting for two State titles at this year’s championship Jones didn’t waste any time winning in three 11-4, 11-9, 11-6 in 33 minutes.  One down and one to go!

At 11am there were three finals scheduled.  Brisbane girls Ella Burge [1] and Ashlyn Barclay [2] were to contest the U13 Girls final.  Burge proved she is going to be a future star with a comprehensive 11-7, 11-3, 11-9 in 15 minutes!

Showing no ill effects from a slight concussion sustained on Day 2 Mackay’s BJ MacDonald [1] swept past Luke Eyles [2] in the Boys U13 final 11-2, 11-3, 11-3 in 19 minutes.

Southern Region were delighted when Warwick’s Caleb Johnson [2] beat Brisbane’s Connor McNeill [4] to take the U21 Boys final.  Johnson lost the first, regrouped in the break and then powered away for a great win in four 12-14, 11-6, 11-4, 11-8 (37 minutes).

It was now time for the first of the rising stars to entertain the crowd.  With the World Junior Championships his ultimate mission it was important that Brisbane’s Nick Calvert put together a strong performance. This he did in 50 minutes winning 11-7, 11-2, 11-6.  Arscott gave it his all but Calvert was more patient and consistent.

At 1pm it was time to see if Stafford’s Taylor Jones [1] could win her second title for the day against Zoe Lockton [7].  Jones was ruthless winning the title in 16 minutes 11-1, 11-5, 11-4.  Mission accomplished … title number two was in the bag but little did she know there was more recognition to come!

Both Calvert and Taylor were later recognized for their achievements when they were presented with Eagle Awards.  These Achievement Awards are the highest honour a player can receive at the Queensland Junior Championships.

This brought us to the final match of the 2016 Queensland Junior Championships.  It was the Boys U19 blue ribbon event.  The final was a tight 30 minute battle but Alex Eustace [1] was too good for Jon Van Der Kreek [3] winning 11-9, 11-7, 11-8.

In summary the 2016 State Champions are:

  • U 11 Girls: Charlotte Stephenson
  • U13 Girls: Ella Burge
  • U15 Girls: Mackenzie Sleep
  • U17 Girls: Taylor Jones
  • U19 Girls: Taylor Jones
  • U11 Boys: Benjamin Murray
  • U13 Boys: BJ MacDonald
  • U15 Boys: Wesley Dyer
  • U17 Boys: Nicholas Calvert
  • U19 Boys: Alex Eustace
  • U21 Mixed: Caleb Johnson

The Eagle Award winners were:

  • Peter Nance Achievement Award: Nick Calvert
  • Rachael Grinham Achievement Award: Taylor Jones
  • Chris Robertson Encouragement Award: Nathan Turner
  • Rachael Grinham Encouragement Award: Kiara Stubley

Girls Under 9

  1. Tara Davies
  2. Olivia McDermott

Girls Under 11

  1. Charlotte Stephenson [1]
  2. Payton Douglas [2]
  3. Kayce Hoani-Vincent [3]

Girls Under 13

  1. Ella Burge [1]
  2. Ashlyn Barclay [2]
  3. Madison Lyon [4]

Girls Under 15

  1. Mackenzie Sleep [1]
  2. Hayley Hankinson [2]
  3. Jayna Gill [3]

Girls Under 17

  1. Taylor Jones [1]
  2. Zoe Lockton [7]
  3. Mackenzie Sleep [4]

Girls Under 19

  1. Taylor Jones [1]
  2. Skye Turner [3]
  3. Kirby Gill [4]

Boys Under 9

  1. Michael Lawrence
  2. Nickolai Wolpers
  3. Quinn Douglas

Boys Under 11

  1. Benjamin Murray
  2. Zane Wolpers
  3. Rohan Siddans

Boys Under 13

  1. BJ MacDonald [1]
  2. Luke Eyles [2]
  3. Lachlan Woodforth [3]

Boys Under 15

  1. Wesley Dyer [2]
  2. Ethan Stephenson [1]
  3. Lachlan Michel [4]

Boys Under 17

  1. Nicholas Calvert [1]
  2. Joel Arscott [2]
  3. Ethan Stephenson [6]

Boys Under 19

  1. Alex Eustace [1]
  2. Jon Van Der Kreek [3]
  3. Nicholas Calvert [4]

Mixed Under 21

  1. Caleb Johnson [2]
  2. Connor Mcneill [4]
  3. Riley Steffen [5]

Full draws and results can be viewed at Tournament Software.

For more information contact Kim Schramm on 0407126911